The Minnesota Youth Athletic Services, Trusted Coaches, and the Wisconsin Sports Services have been committed to providing our partners, the parent-volunteer youth sports associations, the best practices and standards in youth sport since 1991. Today is no different! In response to the Protecting Youth Victims from Sexual Abuse and Safe Sport Authorization Act of 2017. The Trusted Coaches Child Safety Course has been developed to meet the needs of this act through our Trusted Coaches platform. Members of the MYAS/Trusted Coaches staff have been determining the scope of this federal law and whether it does in fact affect the community based parent-volunteer youth sports associations and not just national governing bodies for youth sports. As more education is provided about this law, it is our belief that every association with youth athletes participating in their programs must abide by the Safe Sport Act. Cost for the Trusted Coaches Child Safety Training Course will be $5 and is available on our products page now at https://www.trustedcoaches.org/get-started/trusted-coaches-educational-packages/
This means having in place a protocol for reducing the risk of child abuse and instructions regarding how to report it. The law mandates that anyone who suspects abuse must report it to the authorities within 24 hours, or steep civil penalties may be levied against that individual or organization. MYAS/TC/WSS is proud that we have been able to develop a solution for our partners, the parent-volunteer youth sports organizations, that fulfills the standards set forth by the SafeSport Act .
Current Trusted Coaches Administrators
Existing Coaches – To add the course to coaches that are registered and in your “roster” of “My Coaches”, simply log in to your Admin account and choose the Child Safety Course in the Renewal Center. Select all coaches that are required by your organization to complete the Child Safety Training. The course will automatically be enabled on the coaches’ account(s).
Help Guide for Existing Coaches
New Coaches – Any coach that isn’t already a registered member (redeemed a code and created a user account) will need a code sent to them to complete this course. You may order the Child Safety course for new coaches by logging into your Admin account and ordering from the Products page.
Help Guide for New Coaches